That’s what friends are for…

Leave a comment

Yesterday,  at the end of my financial and patience rope, I asked for prayers on Facebook. I know that sounds rather unlike me, I do feel that the prayers of others can help. I’m a horrible manager of money. And I never have a reserve built up to deal with life’s great gifts of sorrow. Like water line breaks. Three months ago I had a brilliant idea: I would bring up the rural water to my house so I would have a backup for my well, because i ran the well dry last summer when I left it on for an hour. That scared me.

OK, so I got the water brought up and I thought all was well. Then the dam broke.
What happened? I heard water pouring like Niagara Falls down below my sink. No water in the house, thank goodness, but water everywhere.
So I had to call my guy to come back and check. He did, and found some leaks and fixed them. But the water kept pouring. So I called again, and this time he thought maybe a pressure regulator would be a good idea. Yeah, great idea. I had 100 pounds of pressure. Then yesterday, the leak was still with me, only worse. It was pouring up out of the ground, like a waterfall, down below my house.
Today a different guy spent five hours isolating the leaks, and turning down the pressure regulator to a decent stream. Tomorrow he comes back to finish. And it isn’t going to cost me an arm and a leg, so one prayer has been answered.
I’m still broke, but i’m working it all out. And now, checking my Facebook page, I have all this outpouring of love and concern from friends, some of whom I haven’t seen for ages. I love my friends. They keep me sane.
And that is what friends are for! Thanks, all of you. You have blessed me with your thoughts and prayers.

Leave a Reply

