Dear Pippa: Dating Advice for the digitally-challenged

2 Comments

ImageDear Pippa:

I’m a widow.I have a profile on an Internet dating site, and because I believe in full disclosure, I have photos of myself, both a head shot and some full body shots of me. I didn’t photoshop these, because if a man doesn’t like me for who I really am, I want to know before he connects with me. I’m over 60, look good for my age, but I’m a bit plump. Not grossly fat, but I’m not a runway model either. Truth is, I’ve never been really thin. It isn’t my body type. The other day I got a reply from a man who said I should lose weight and then I would be more attractive. Needless to say, this hurt my feelings. Why did he feel the urge to tell me that, when it would have taken less effort to click off my profile and find someone more to his liking? Oh, and by the way, this guy is no Adonis. His profile shows he is divorced. He has a body shot of himself in his underwear (boxers, not briefs), standing next to the shower. He is not attractive, at least not to me, and he has a gut that he is obviously holding in for dear life in the photo. Also, he shows pictures of his house, which is a cluttered mess. So maybe I should consider the source. But still, I’m miffed. Should I take my photos down? Should I stop looking for love online? Please tell me what to do.

Normal woman looking for love

Dear Normal:

The guy is a putz. Pure and simple. He obviously should look in the mirror and see himself for what he is. And beauty is not skin deep. You have already seen this man’s soul for what he is – can you imagine living with someone like this? No wonder he is divorced. And from what you say of his profile, he is a loser who will have a hard time finding a good woman who will even pause for a second on his profile. Rest assured that you have done the right thing in putting up pictures that show you as you are. I guarantee that the right person will come along for you, either online or in person, and they will see your inner beauty and appreciate your outer self for its honesty. But you should tell this loser a few things, in the interest of helping him to improve his profile. Here’s a suggestion:

Well, gee, Internet Dating Man, thanks for your advice. I’m sure you mean well. So I will not take it that you are trying to insult me. Because as your profile claims, you are trying to be kind, considerate and sincere. I’m also glad that you are into fitness and that you don’t have a problem with your weight. It is wonderful to know that some people just never have to deal with that issue in their lives. But here’s some advice from me: a man never comments on a woman’s weight. It makes him seem shallow and only interested in the outside of the package. And I’m sure that is not your problem, because you seem to be such a kind, considerate and sincere guy.
Also, the picture of you in the bathroom in your shorts is such a turn on. Most women are so thrilled to see a man in his shorts, with his gut hanging out. Very sexy. Some more advice – don’t spend so much time in the sun. With your pasty white complexion, that could lead to sun cancer and ugly sun spots, which would probably destroy your chances to go out with a woman who could match up with your desire for perfection and beauty. Oh, and the picture of the cluttered rooms in your house show you to be such a catch. 
Sincerely and with such gratitude for your comments, Normal.

I hope this helps. And chin up!

Pippa

(Send  questions about your love life to Pippa at Ozarklady777@gmail.com)

2 thoughts on “Dear Pippa: Dating Advice for the digitally-challenged

  1. Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog article or vice-versa? My website goes over a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other. If you are interested feel free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Wonderful blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

