How the garden is growing

2 Comments

DSCF2226Today I went out to the garden to see how it is going. First, let me explain that growing the garden is Larry’s job. I am only a spectator at this point, even though I did help with the planting. My part won’t kick in until it comes time to harvest the produce and can or freeze it, or make pickles, etc. Our garden has potatoes, onions, radishes, corn, tomatoes, hot and mild peppers, beans (yes, we did go ahead and plant one row), cucumbers, watermelon, and squash. We have five rows of corn; two were planted a few days ago, so we will have two separate harvests. This year we plan to freeze corn for next winter, as well as enjoy fresh ears. Corn is an excellent source of vitamins and fiber, and we love it. The beans will be for fresh only – I don’t need to can. The tomatoes will become green tomato pickles, salsa, and possibly, vegetable only spaghetti sauce if the crop is large enough. I’m already girding up for the major harvest points in July, when my weekends will be spent in the kitchen. The peppers will go in the salsa and be a never ending supply of fresh peppers for the kitchen (until frost). I plan to pickle some jalapenos again this year, also. We always have so many, and it is simple to pickle them. I’m working to perfect my pickling – last year’s were just a little limper than I like them, so I plan to add alum along with some dill.
Canning is the reason I have, in my arsenal, two Cuisinart food processors. It comes in very hand to have both set up, so I can be preparing two batches at once. This year I also have a new slicer that will be used for the process, a mandolin slicer/grater that is hand-operated and has stainless steel disks. I will be able to do thicker slices that way.

Tomatoes are growing up next to the wire that they will be attached to as they mature; this will protect the fruit from spoiling on the ground and give the vines support.

Tomatoes are growing up next to the wire that they will be attached to as they mature; this will protect the fruit from spoiling on the ground and give the vines support.

Three rows of corn - not quite as tall as an elephant's eye yet, but on their way.

Three rows of corn - not quite as tall as an elephant's eye yet, but on their way.

Potatoes, red varieties plus yellow and white, are flanked by onions on the left and corn on the right.

Potatoes, red varieties plus yellow and white, are flanked by onions on the left and corn on the right.

One lonely row of beans, planted late, won't yield until July.

One lonely row of beans, planted late, won't yield until July.

2 thoughts on “How the garden is growing

  1. What a beautiful garden! Ours is extremely modest in comparison. I can tell experience when I see it – not a weed in sight. You should be proud of it. Excellent. Maybe I can learn from you.

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. Gee – You make me blush! No, actually it is Larry’s garden. I am just a happy spectator. He is such an architect at it! Straight rows, no weeds – perfect. You will have to come over and enjoy it with us.

Leave a Reply

