Peach Pie and Grandma Mable's Bread

9 Comments
The snow is on the lilacs. We hope the lilacs won't freeze.

The snow is on the lilacs. We hope the lilacs won't freeze.

Winter is having her wild way with us this weekend, making another run before Spring ushers her out the door for a few seasons. I’m inside working on research while the snow flies, and decided to make some bread and bake a pie. Now, pie is a problem for me. I’ve never been good at making the crust. But last week I found a recipe I decided to try, and it was a snap. I have no idea if I have just changed, or if this recipe makes the difference, but I definitely made a pretty pie. That first one was cherry. Today, it is peach – and it turned out great, also. 

 

Unbaked pie, ready to go in the oven

Unbaked pie, ready to go in the oven

Here’s the recipe I used, which is attached to the cherry pie recipe I found online (I’m posting the link).cherry pie and crust recipe
The crust calls for butter, a little shortening, and, surprise, cream cheese! I had some in the refrigerator that needed to be used, so this was perfect. I did make the cherry pie as the recipe called for, but I confess I didn’t like the use of the potato starch. So for the peach pie, I used corn starch, only added a half cup of sugar, and used two 28-ounce cans of cling peaches in heavy syrup.
One of the things I loved about this recipe was, it told how to cook the crust without getting it too brown – using foil on a pizza stone under the pie, then wrapping the pie up around the edges in the foil after the first 30 or so minutes of cooking. Superb!

The peach pie is out of the oven and needs to cool.

The peach pie is out of the oven and needs to cool.


The bread recipe is one my husband’s mother made. Mable Kilby was quite a cook, and I’ve heard all Larry’s siblings talk about her exploits in the kitchen. I found this recipe in a cookbook she owned, written in her own hand. It is easy to make, fast, and always turns out perfectly. Here’s the recipe:

1 ½ cups scalded milk, cooled to lukewarm
¼ pound butter
2 packages yeast dissolved in ½ cup lukewarm water
½ cup sugar
1 teaspoon salt
3 beaten eggs
7 cups flour

After proofing the yeast, add to the milk, then sift in the flour, first putting four cups in and mixing, then adding the rest until it comes away from the sides of the bowl (I confess I cheat here and use my food processor, processing it in two batches, and skipping the kneading.)
Turn out and knead for about 13 minutes, until smooth and elastic. Then put in a greased or buttered bowl and let rise until doubled, about 1 ½ hours. Punch down, let rise again, then turn out on a floured board, make into three loaves, and let rise until above the edge of the pans. Bake at 375 for about 25-30 minutes, until golden. Test for doneness by tapping the loaf – if it sounds hollow, it is done. Turn out on a rack and slather with butter, and let cool. Do not wrap in plastic until the bread has cooled totally, about 8 hours. Otherwise, it will sweat and get soggy.

Ready to go in the oven

Ready to go in the oven


The bread, out of the oven and buttered. Yum!

The bread, out of the oven and buttered. Yum!

9 thoughts on “Peach Pie and Grandma Mable's Bread

  1. The pie and breads look really good. You are a great cook also. I still treasure Mable’s shortbread recipe. You might consider putting it on the blog sometime. It is so yummy!

    Did you mean 2 or 3 loaves of bread? Six cups of flour usually makes 2 standard loaves, so betwixt & between. I will try the recipe. It is a keeper, also.

  2. It is supposed to make three loaves, but I always make two large loaves. Good call – I forgot about that. I use two large, Pyrex® loaf pans. But two large metal would work as well. I just like the glass.
    The shortbread recipe wasn’t Mable’s – it was one I had found and adapted. I’ll find it and let you have that recipe – it is really good, but high in fat. Of course, this pie crust is high in fat! That may be why I like it. You really can’t taste the cream cheese in it, but it makes the texture really nice.

  3. I posted a dried peach pie recipe today and your canned peach pie is a great alternative. I’m sharing it with my readers.

    catherinecarey.wordpress.com

  4. Pingback: Dried Fruit Takes Care of Your Sweet Tooth « Catherine Carey

Leave a Reply

