I feel embarrassed for Pilot Chesley Sullenberger

4 Comments

chesley_sullenberger_honored_cropDon’t get me wrong. I’m thrilled that U.S. Airways flight 1549 landed in the Hudson and all aboard survived. Two of my sisters are flight attendants for Continental Airlines, and I monitor stories like this constantly. But, enough is enough, already.

Poor Chesley Sullenberger, the pilot, has been forced to endure countless media interviews, including appearances on 60 Minutes, Larry King Live, and anyone else who was able to schedule him in.  He has appeared at parades in his honor, been given medals and awards, and now will be given a Key to the City of New York. Can’t we just leave this guy alone?

I mean, he has just been through a terrific ordeal, one he hoped he would never have to go through, and the media blitz continues. He is obviously uncomfortable out there in the spotlight, too. Are we so hard up for good news that we keep grinding this story for all it’s worth? What next? Tabloid exposés? Will they discover some horrible truth and bring it to life, scandalizing him? (Trust me, most of us have stuff we would rather not have out there for the public to know.)

I say let him alone, give him a break, move on. It’s starting to make me as uncomfortable as I’m sure it is him. He looks like he’s had enough. 

Photo credit: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Chesley_Sullenberger_honored_crop.jpg

4 thoughts on “I feel embarrassed for Pilot Chesley Sullenberger

  1. It is interesting that we have such a small role to play in the grand scheme of things that when someone achieves greatness we have to find something wrong with them. Look at celebrities. They are good at what they do and they get hounded until someone finds dirt on them. What a pity.

    S. Craig Golden

  2. Okay, so I’m a little late to this post, but I appreciated your comment on my blog and thought I’d stop by…

    On one hand, I totally agree – leave the guy alone! He did a great thing, but um, not to belittle it at all – it was his job. He did his job, and he did it well. Commendable, yes. The media blitz was probably not necessary, but…who is forcing him to take interviews? His company? His wife? Surely he didn’t have a publicist before this happened, does he have one now? Couldn’t he just SAY, “Thanks for the interview offer, but I’ve said and done all I can. Going back to living my life now.”

    AND to top it all off, recently he signed a two-book deal with a publisher and was paid $3.2 MILLION. One of these books will be poerty. What? Since when did poetry sell for over a million dollars?

    At this point, I’m not sure how sorry for him I/we should feel.

    /rant

  3. Chesley Sullenberger? Leave the guy alone? Come on! If this guy were truly modest and was just doing his job – which is all he was doing – the why not say NO to 60 minutes, Larry King Live, parades, keys to cities, etc? He should have stepped out of the spot light a LONG, LONG time ago. Being hounded by the press is no excuse for continuing to be in the news. After he first interviewed on Dateline or whatever it was and then let the passengers convey their appreacitation to him?… then game over. This guy is eating this up big time. I can understand that to a point. All the attention felt pretty good I’m sure. However, if the guy had made a couple appearances and then put out a statement to the press where he stated something like, “I’m very thankful to everyone, but I feel it is time to go back to my private life and put this chapter behind me.”

Leave a Reply

