The Gamma-Ray Burst is Coming! The Gamma-Ray Burst is Coming!

1 Comment

I’ve been watching the History Channel, and I want to warn you — it isn’t for the faint of heart. The latest new shows are on Nostradamus and 2012. In a nutshell, the 2012 prediction is that the world will end on December 21, 2012. Because? Well, it is because the Mayan calendar ends on that date. As a consequence of this calendar, many people have been speculating as to what can bring an end to the world on that date. Some say it will be a supervolcano, like the one at Yellowstone that is currently rumbling with a swarm of earthquakes link to article, or it could be a gamma-ray burst. The gamma-ray burst is pretty scary. In fact, worrying about it kept me up all night. OK, OK, I was up anyway, watching the Nostradamus special I had taped. But it did worry me. These don’t sound like anything to screw with. A scientist, Dr. Paul La Violette, wrote in his dissertation that we were overdue for a “superwave” like the kind that he claims caused the last ice age. Link to article and would possibly create a electromagnetic pulse that would wipe out all our electronics. Oh No! My laptop! My satellite TV! Aaaarrggghhh!
Since last night’s marathon event (in my house, anyway), I’ve had a chance to reconsider my stand on this stuff. First of all, let’s not panic, kids. It sounds much like Chicken Little “The Sky is Falling!” and I refuse to go that route. (But wait — why did our generation get told that story, anyway? To placate us? Make us numb from fear so when the aliens came to take our brains, we would willingly walk into the spaceship, like the Eloi going underground in The Time Machine,without knowing that To Serve Man was a cook book? Oh, sorry, time for my meds. LOL)
OK, I’m making fun of all this now. But isn’t it true that we seem ready, as a collective society, to believe any-old-dissertation that comes around the bend? But I’m a skeptic. I don’t even know if I believe in God (I haven’t really decided, the jury is out. But I can’t exactly say I buy into everything in the Bible, yet.) So of course I don’t put a lot of faith in this stuff. It is fun to watch, and fun to be scared. But if I truly believed the world were about to be destroyed, would I be eating my grits with Splenda this morning and low calorie maple syrup? Would I poach my eggs or fry them? And would I even consider taking down the tree? No! I would be frying everything, pouring butter, sugar, real syrup on top. And the tree? That widget could stay up forever. It is kind of cute.

One thought on “The Gamma-Ray Burst is Coming! The Gamma-Ray Burst is Coming!

  1. Hello, i would like that you visit and read the Messages of Virgin Mary.

    http://www.apelosurgentes.com.br/english/

    A swift and destructive fire will hit the world.
    15 August, 2009. Message 3201 from Our Lady of Peace, Anguera, Bahia, Brazil.
    Dear Sons and Daughters, pray much before the cross for the conversion of people. Seek strength in the Eucharist, for this is the only way you will be capable of giving testimony to the marvels of The Lord. Don´t let the devil rob your peace. You belong to The Lord and should serve only Him. I am your sorrowful Mother. I want to tell you that you will yet have great sufferings. You are heading towards a future of great trials. Humanity will be purified in suffering. The day will come when people will shout for help and want to die. A swift and destructive fire will hit the world. It is coming from far away and people will not be able to prevent its destructive action. I suffer because of what is coming to you. Continents will no longer exist and the world will not be the same. All will be different. What you see today will no longer exist. After all this, God will make a new world for His chosen ones. Forward with courage. This is the message I transmit to you today in the name of The Most Holy Trinity. Thank you for permitting Me to reunite you here once more. I bless you in the name of The Father, and of The Son, and of The Holy Spirit. Amen. Be at peace.

    —–
    Dear Sons and Daughters, I love you as you are and I desire to take you on way of good and of sanctity. Accept the Gospel of My Jesus. Let the words of My Son transform your lives. Don´t withdraw from the truth. My poor children live in a sad spiritual blindness and don´t know where to go to. I come from heaven to point out the way for you. Be docil. Open your hearts and fill yourselves with the love of The Lord. Don´t back out. Even when you feel the weight of the cross, testify that you truly belong to The Lord. God is very close to you. Don´t get away from prayer. You are going towards a future of great trials. Put your trust in My Son Jesus. No evil can reach My chosen ones. You who are living My appeals will be supported in the hour of pain. God will never abandon those who were faithful to the end. Abundant graces f rom The Lord will come to those who are faithful. Rejoice, for you are beloved, each one of you, by The Father, in The Son, through The Holy Spirit. Don´t feel that you are alone. I will always be at your side.This is the message I transmit to you today in the name of The Most Holy Trinity. Thank you for permitting Me to reunite you here once more. I bless you in the name of The Father, and of The Son, and of The Holy Spirit. Amen. Be at peace.

Leave a Reply

