Welcome to my first blog post!

2 Comments
Larry Kilby carrying hay bales on the farm.

Larry Kilby carrying hay bales on the farm.

School is out for the semester, I’m caught up on all my work, and I should be elated. But the weather outside is frightful and the atmosphere inside is not exactly delightful. Larry has been sick for three days with a stomach virus that he probably caught from our grandson, Brendon Short, who came to visit on Friday. Brendon, who is 14 months old, was still suffering from his bout with the virus, but his mother, our daughter Desara, was needing a babysitter so she could get a haircut.

Far be it from us to stand in the way of good grooming.

This morning I woke up with what I suspect may be the beginnings of my experience with this bug. We will see. I could be just having sympathetic vibes with Larry, the way he got morning sickness when I was pregnant with Desara.

We had an ice storm on Sunday night, but it was not like previous ice storms. This one was mostly sleet on the roads, making travel nearly impossible. Nothing on the trees.  But a major consequence is, I’m housebound. I can deal with this OK. But my mother, who is 89 and lives in Neosho, is dismayed. She hates winter, anyway, and now she is afraid to go to her mailbox or get the newspaper off the driveway. The forecast indicates that tomorrow a warming trend is coming. I hope so.

2 thoughts on “Welcome to my first blog post!

  1. Hi Brenda,
    We got home this afternoon. Had a good trip despite seeing the sun only briefly one afternoon. I enjoyed reading your blog. Keep it up.
    Marilyn

  2. Glad you made it back, pal. I loved reading about your trip, and I’m adding the Lucky Dog Blog to my blogroll. I’m having fun!

Leave a Reply

